Contemporary Economic Policy



2017 Best Paper Award Recipient
"Income Instability and the Response of the Safety Net"
by Bradley L. Hardy


Globalization: Contents and Discontents
featuring Orley Ashenfelter, Robert Engle, Daniel McFadden,
and Klaus Schmidt-Hebbel



Contemporary Economic Policy posted the following stats for 2016:

  • 5-Year Impact Factor of .798, 2-Year Impact Factor of .887 
  • ISI ranking 182/347 in economics journals; 34/47 in public administration journals
  • Eigenfactor ranking 184/347 in economics journals
  • Article Influence ranking 214/339 in economics journals


First published in 1982 as Contemporary Policy IssuesCEP publishes scholarly research and analysis on important policy issues facing society. The journal strives to provide insight into the complexity of policy decisions and to communicate evidence-based solutions in a form accessible to economists and policy makers. CEP creates a useful forum for policy-relevant debate by enhancing understanding of key issues and advancing methods for policy analysis. Published in cooperation with Wiley, its worldwide circulation is approximately 15,000.

For manuscript style instructions, library subscription information, recent articles, abstracts, and much more, visit the Contemporary Economic Policy page at Wiley.

WEAI members have access to all of the content for both Economic Inquiry and Contemporary Economic Policy back to volume 1. Simply log in using your last name and membership ID number.


Editorial Board


  • Brad R. Humphreys, West Virginia University


  • Craig A. Depken II, University of North Carolina, Charlotte
  • Kwok Ping Tsang, Virginia Tech
  • Douglas A. Webber, Temple University
  • Andrew Young, Texas Tech University

Specialized Co-Editors

  • Maureen A. Pirog, Indiana University
  • Jane E. Ruseski, West Virginia University


Specialized Co-Editor for CEP Conference Sessions

  • Jack W. Hou, California State University, Long Beach

Editorial Board

  • Heidi Jo Albers, Oregon State University
  • Orley Ashenfelter, Princeton University
  • Edward Barbier, University of Wyoming
  • Paul Bergin, University of California, Davis
  • Theodore Bergstrom, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Henning Bohn, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Kenneth J. Button, George Mason University
  • Richard T. Carson, Jr., University of California, San Diego
  • Stephen G. Cecchetti, Brandeis University
  • Frank J. Chaloupka IV, University of Illinois at Chicago
  • Yu-chin Chen, University of Washington
  • Yin-Wong Cheung, City University of Hong Kong
  • Dennis Coates, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
  • Michael R. Darby, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Stephen J. DeCanio, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Alejandra Cox Edwards, California State University, Long Beach
  • Peter Elias, University of Warwick
  • Lewis Evans, Victoria University of Wellington
  • Alan A. Fisher, Federal Trade Commission
  • William G. Gale, Brookings Institution
  • Herbert Gintis, Central European University
  • Lisa M. Grobar, California State University, Long Beach
  • Joshua Hall, West Virginia University
  • Arnold C. Harberger, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Richard B. Howarth, Dartmouth College
  • Marion Jones, University of Regina
  • George G. Kaufman, Loyola University Chicago
  • Masahiro Kawai, ADBI Institute
  • Jonathan G. Koomey, Stanford University
  • Catherine Mann, Brandeis University
  • Robert A. Margo, Boston University
  • Thomas Miceli, University of Connecticut
  • David Neumark, University of California, Irvine
  • Jeffrey B. Nugent, University of Southern California
  • Gerald P. O'Driscoll, Jr., The Cato Institute
  • Michael Ransom, Brigham Young University
  • Harvey S. Rosen, Princeton University
  • Geoffrey Rothwell, Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research
  • James A. Roumasset, University of Hawaii at Manoa
  • Scott Rozelle, University of California, Davis
  • Joseph Sabia, University of New Hampshire
  • Kathleen Segerson, University of Connecticut, Storrs
  • Hans-Werner Sinn, University Muenchen
  • Richard Startz, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Charles Stuart, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Clement A. Tisdell, University of Queensland
  • W. Kip Viscusi, Vanderbilt Law School
  • Kenneth D. West, University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Donald R. Williams, Kent State University
  • David Zilberman, University of California, Berkeley
CEP Editorial Office...

Kaulene Gellerman
phone: 714.965.8800
fax: 714.965.8829

Recent Recipients of Best CEP Article Award...