Economic Inquiry


2017 Best Paper Award Recipient

"The Effect of Minimum Wages on Employment: A Factor Model Approach"
by Evan Totty, U.S. Census Bureau


2017 Presidential Address

"The Future of Social Security"  | "Q&A: The Future of Social Security"
by Peter A. Diamond, Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Call for Papers: Contemporary Banking Research


Published since 1962, (formerly Western Economic Journal), EI is highly regarded as a general interest scholarly journal in economics. Quality research that is accessible to a broad range of economists is the primary focus of the journal. EI welcomes quality research from all fields in economics. Join our long list of prestigious authors, including more than 20 Nobel laureates. Published in cooperation with Wiley, its worldwide circulation is approximately 15,000.

For library subscriptions, recent articles, abstracts, and much more, visit the Economic Inquiry page at Wiley.

Economic Inquiry posted the following stats for 2016:

  • Eigenfactor ranking 57/347 in economics journals
  • Article Influence ranking 92/339 in economics journals
  • 5-Year Impact Factor of 1.334, 2-Year Impact Factor of .922
  • ISI ranking 175/347 in economics journals


Editorial Board




Specialized Co-Editors

  • D. Mark Anderson, Montana State University (Health, Crime, and Education)
  • Ted Bergstrom, University of California, Santa Barbara (Economics of Publishing, and Public Economics)
  • Bruce A. Blonigen, University of Oregon (Trade Policy, International Trade, and Industrial Organization)
  • William A. Branch, University of California, Irvine (DSGE Models and Bounded Rationality, and Macroeconomics)
  • Timothy Brennan, University of Maryland, Baltimore County (Policy and Industrial Organization)
  • Andrew Caplin, New York University (Model-based Approaches to Non-Standard Data)
  • Maggie Chen, George Washington University (Multinational Firms and International Trade)
  • Luke Froeb, Vanderbilt University (Competition Economics, Industrial Economics and Business Economics)
  • Tony Kwasnica, Pennsylvania State University (Experimental Economics, Auctions, and Information)
  • Jason Lindo, Texas A&M University (Health Economics, Public Economics and Policy)
  • Keith E. Maskus, University of Colorado, Boulder (International Trade, Development and Intellectual Property Rights and International Economics)
  • Charles F. Mason, University of Wyoming (Environmental and Resource Economics, Energy Economics, Industrial Organization)
  • R. Preston McAfee, Microsoft (Whatever Wes needs)
  • David Reiley, Pandora (Field Experiments)
  • Tim Salmon, Southern Methodist University (Experimental, Auction Theory, and Industrial Organization)
  • Robert Simmons, Lancaster University (Sports Economics and Labor)
  • Dietrich Vollrath, University of Houston (Economic Growth, Development, Macroeconomics)
  • Glen R. Waddell, University of Oregon (Education and Policy Evaluation, Labor and Public Economics)

Associate Editors

  • Leonardo J. Basso, Universidad de Chile (Transport Economics, IO, Urban Economics)
  • Gordon Dahl, University of California, San Diego (Education, Labor)
  • Ferre de Graeve, University of Leuven (Macro-Finance, Monetary Policy, Macroeconometrics, DSGE Models, Banking)
  • Gerald Dwyer, Jr., Clemson University (Financial Crises, Monetary, Banking. Growth)
  • Todd Elder, Michigan State University (Education, Program Evaluation)
  • David Figlio, Northwestern University (Education, Public Economics, Policy)
  • Jane Cooley Fruehwirth, University of North Carolina (Education and Public Economics)
  • Lata Gangadharan, Monash University (Experimental, Environmental, Institutions and Development)
  • Bernhard Ganglmair, University of Mannheim and ZEW (Industrial Organization, Law and Economics)
  • Limor Golan, Washington University in St. Louis (Labor, Applied Microeconomics)
  • Holger Görg, Kiel Institute for the World Economy (International Trade and Multinational Firms)
  • Keith Head, University of British Columbia (Trade Policy and International Trade)
  • Kevin Henrickson, Gonzaga University (Applied Microeconomics, Labor, Spatial Econometrics)
  • Peter Ireland, Boston College (Macroeconomics, Stochastic Growth, Monetary Economics)
  • Sherry Li, University of Texas, Dallas (Experimental and Behavioral Economics, Public Economics, Labor Economics)
  • John Mayo, Georgetown University (Regulation and Industrial Organization)
  • Guillaume Rocheteau, University of California, Irvine (Macroeconomics, Money)
  • Katheryn N. Russ, University of California, Davis (International Trade and Finance, International  Monetary Economics)
  • Mikhael Shor, University of Connecticut (Industrial Organization and Experimental)
  • Kan Takeuchi, Hitotsubashi University (Behavioral, Experimental, Time Preference)
  • Jacob Vigdor, Duke University (Education, Immigration and Migration, Urban)
  • Todd B. Walker, Indiana University (Macroeconomics, Monetary Theory, Financial Economics)
  • Avi Weiss, Bar-Ilan University (Industrial Organization, Labor, Law and Economics, Experimental)
  • Shintaro Yamaguchi, McMaster University (Labor, Econometrics, Applied Microeconomics)
  • Feng Yao, West Virginia University (Econometrics and Applied Econometrics)
EI Editorial Office...

Kaulene Gellerman
phone: 714.965.8800
fax: 714.965.8829